Maine Economic Growth Council

A high quality of life for all Maine people

The Maine Economic Growth Council was established in statute to develop a long-range economic plan for the state and to measure our progress in achieving the plan’s benchmarks and goals. Council members are jointly appointed by the Governor, Speaker of the House, and President of the Senate, and consist of leaders from a variety of sectors and from across the state. By statute, the Council is administered by the Maine Development Foundation.

Maine Economic Growth Council Members 2024

  • LuAnn Ballesteros, The Jackson Laboratory
  • Keith Bisson, Coastal Enterprises Inc.
  • Sheena Bunnell, University of Maine at Farmington
  • Donna Cassese, Sappi North America
  • Hon. James Dill, Co-Chair, Senate District 5
  • James Erwin, Pierce Atwood LLP
  • Steve Hewins, Former CEO, HospitalityMaine
  • Thomas Kittredge, City of Belfast
  • Phoenix McLaughlin, Maine Dept. Economic and Community Development (Commissioner’s designee)
  • John Napolitano, Plumbers and Pipefitters Union 716
  • Hon. Harold Stewart, Senate District 2
  • Stephen Von Vogt, Co-Chair, Maine Marine Composites
  • Tim Walton, Walton External Affairs

Each year, MDF works with the Council to produce the Measures of Growth Report. Using a non-partisan, independent approach to gather, vet and present data and key indicators of Maine’s economic progress, the report informs policy and decision making. The indicators collectively support the Council’s belief that the vision of a high quality of life for all Maine people requires a vibrant and sustainable economy supported by vital communities and a healthy environment.

Celebrating MDF’s 40 Years of Economic Development in Maine